Frederick A. Douglass High School's Class of 2023

The Class of 2023 at Frederick A. Douglass High School is proud to announce Kayla Frey as the valedictorian and Nicolas Williams as the salutatorian.

Kayla, daughter of Leslie and Derrick Frey, has her sights set on studying sociology with a focus on social inequality at Yale University. She excelled in softball, earning the title of Scholar Athlete of the Year and was part of the award-winning Aspen Challenge Team. Kayla also actively participated in community service initiatives, such as Operation Hope 4 NOLA, and contributed as a statistician for the football team. Her involvement in student organizations like the National Honor Society, School Newspaper, Bard Ambassador Program, Bard Student Leadership Council, and Total Black Out Organization showcases her commitment to academic and personal growth. Recently, she was honored as a recipient of the Gates Scholarship.

Nicolas, son of Nicole Williams, has a passion for environmental science and will be pursuing his studies at Louisiana State University. He too received the prestigious Gates Scholarship and was a valued member of the award-winning Aspen Challenge Team and Operation Hope 4 NOLA. Nicolas's dedication to academic excellence and his involvement in extracurricular activities have made him a standout student in the Class of 2023. He has also earned an Associate of Arts Degree through the Bard Early College Program.

Other graduates are:

Nolan Alexis, Deaundra Alfred,  Jonae Allen,  Iran Ballard, Ky'Laiha Batiste, Marvin Benjamin, Ja'Myra Boudreaux, Lacey Boudreaux, Merlin Broadston, Alexandria Brooks, Lakandi Brown, Precious Bryant, Dereneka Buckley, Romell Burns, Autumn Burton, Ja'Ron Bush, Barry Cager, Larry Cager, Miracle Carr, Shawn Carr, Brenna Celious, Jazmine Claiborne, Katerine Colindres, Lawrence Conway, Taylor Cormier, Keyuo Craver, Kristopher Dannel, Allen Darby, Anthony Darby, Mia Darby, Brandon Davis, Cynekia Davis, Levar Davis, Jaleah Depron, Barren Dyer, Isaiah Earl, Louis Earlycutt, Essence Edgerson, Kourian Florent, Megan Forbes, Terry Franklin, Chassidy Frey, Kyla Frey, Maria Fugon-martinez, Tyron Gardner, Le'Shyra Gillum, Zinaya Gillum, Victorion Gittens, Taurus Glover, Naiya Gooden, Terrell Gould, Eniyah Guyton, Adonis Handy, Kamren Handy, Evanesha Hatcher, Zakyron Hawkins, Li'Jay Haynes, Jaielen Henry, Kydarius Hervey, Tonisha Hilliard, Jared Hollins, Joshua Hudson, Julia Jackson, Dorian James, Dillion Jenkins, IShelle Johnson, Janice Johnson, Emini Joichin, Lloydrielle Jones, Coreyell Knockum, Jacque Lafrance, Naje' Lambert, Jarren Lang, Ronald Lavigne, Skyla Lawton, Dynasty Lemieux, Ijanea Lewis, Ja'Vanni Lincoln, Cameron Lockett, Trinity Lyles, Geriyah Magee, Savannah Major, Gerald Martin, Giree Martin, Yazmine Martinez, Jahzara Mason, Thaliyah Mason, Ashanti Mccrary, Justin McCright, Jonai Mcmillian, Richard Miller, Dynasty Mitchell, Galo Mogollon, Chasity Moore, Justin Mosby, Tyrell Murphy, James Nathan, Aniah Newton, Aaliyah Norris, Tylan Oliney, Victoria Pike, Timothy Pittman, Monea Price, Shantell Reese, Destiny Rhodes, Shamika Riles, Dylan Ross, Abigail Sandusky, Romione Saulter, Jairah Scott, Destiny Shelton, Chris Simon, Chrishelle Smith, Johnny Smith, Tra'keely Smith, Bre'anna Soniat, Sean Spann, Jamel Sparkman, Kayshana Stanley, Haley Stansberry, Coreyian Stemley, Saniya Sullivan, Anthony Tapp, Ayantal Taylor, Tearra Taylor, Myelle Tero, Dimitri Thomas, Pleasurene Thomas, Todd Torregano, Renoia Watson, Christopher Wiggins, Adaiah Williams, Keith Williams, Tyrell Williams, and Tyasia Woods.